Quebec Standard

Three more countries banned; Airport testing increased due to Omicron concerns

Canada expands COVID testing at airports and prohibits flights from three more nations due to Omicron concerns. Even if they are vaccinated, all overseas travellers arriving in Canada from countries other than the United States will be tested upon arrival and placed in quarantine until the tests are known.

After discovering several Omicron variant cases in Canada, the federal authorities barred numerous more nations from flying into the country and increased testing and quarantine measures.

Egypt, Malawi, and Nigeria have been added to a list of seven nations where foreign nationals are prohibited from entering Canada, which was released on Friday.

Canadian citizens and permanent residents will be able to return to those countries. Still, they will be subjected to arrival testing, regardless of whether they have been vaccinated. Quarantine requirements at a specified hotel until the results of the test are received will be imposed.

According to Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos, there is still a lot to learn about the new type and how it reacts to vaccines, but the government must be cautious.

“It’s possible that as time passes, we’ll discover that the new variation isn’t as dangerous as some specialists worry, but the situation could also change,” he added.

​​In addition to the extended travel ban, all overseas visitors landing in Canada from countries other than the United States will be tested upon arrival and must be home-quarantined until the findings are known, even if they have been vaccinated. It is in addition to the pre-arrival tests that travellers are presently required to complete. If they have visited one of the 10 African nations, unvaccinated travellers will be required to spend a full 14 days under quarantine at home or in a hotel.

Source: National Post

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *